Harry A. Fagan Roundtable Award

2023 - Roundtable is now accepting nominations for this year's Harry A. Fagan Roundtable Award!

The Roundtable Association of Catholic Diocesan Social Action Directors presents the Harry A. Fagan Award annually to a person or persons whose work, in the tradition of Catholic social teaching, has led to significant progress towards greater social justice and dignity for all members of society at the national or international level. The award is presented annually at the Social Action Summer Institute, which will be taking place in-person at Emory University in Atlanta, GA from July 12-15, 2023.  

 pdfNomination Form 

NOTE: The deadline for submission is 5 PM Eastern Time on Friday, April 7, 2023. Please email Catherine Orr with the subject: SASI 2023 Workshop Proposal and/or 2023 Fagan Award Nomination

The Roundtable Association of Diocesan Social Action Directors honors an individual or individuals who have made unique contributions to the achievement of the Catholic vision of social justice in the national and/or international community.

Their work will:

  • have made an impact on significant numbers of persons, or set a precedent or example which affected many
  • have affected progress in the national or international communities toward eliminating social, economic, or political injustice or discrimination
  • have affected progress towards guaranteeing basic human dignity and rights as defined in Catholic social teaching

They will have shown evidence of linking faith and justice, in light of Catholic social teaching, through education which leads to action (advocacy, empowerment, and organizing) on issues, policies, and social structures that contribute to the building of God’s kingdom on earth.

Fagan Award Recipients

  • Rev. J. Bryan Hehir (1987)
  • Ronald T. Krietemeyer (1988)
  • Sr. Nancy Sylvester, IHM (1989)
  • Most Rev. Joseph M. Sullivan (1990)
  • Harry A. Fagan (1991)
  • Sharon M. Daly (1992)
  • John L. Carr (1993)
  • Rev. Msgr. George Higgins (1994)
  • Rev. Msgr. John Egan and Margaret Roach (1995)
  • Dr. Mary Heidkamp and James Lund (1996)
  • Most Rev. James Malone (1997)
  • Rev. Eugene Boyle (1998)
  • Sr. Miriam Mitchell, SHSp (1999)
  • Msgr. Raymond G. East (2000)
  • Sr. Helen Prejean, CSJ (2001)
  • Most Rev. Ricardo Ramírez, CSB (2002)
  • Rev. Msgr. Philip J. Murnion (2003)
  • John J. Sweeney (2004)
  • Donna M. Hanson (2005)
  • Jack Jezreel (2006)
  • Rev. Greg Boyle, SJ (2007)
  • Most Rev. John E. McCarthy (2008)
  • Joan Rosenhauer (2009)
  • Rev. Bryan Massingale (2010)
  • Sr. Katherine Feely, SND; Fr. Jim Hug, SJ and Dr. Jane Deren (2011)
  • Jan Benton, SFO (2012)
  • Gerald Flood (2013)
  • Archbishop Francis Chullikatt (2014)
  • Dan Misleh (2015)
  • Fr. Fred Kammer, S.J. (2016)
  • Ralph McCloud (2018)
  • Sr. Norma Pimentel, MJ (2019)
  • *no award given during the COVID-19 pandemic*
  • His eminence, Wilton Cardinal Gregory (2021)
  • Sharon Lavigne (2022)

Nomination Form for The Harry A. Fagan Roundtable Award